This is your life

yesterday is a wrinkle on your forehead
yesterday is a promise that you’ve broken
don’t close your eyes, don’t close your eyes
this is your life and today is all you’ve got now
yeah, and today is all you’ll ever have
don’t close your eyes
don’t close your eyes
this is your life, are you who you want to be
this is your life, are you who you want to be

The above text is from Switchfoot’s song “This is your life”.  I heard it while I was driving home from my Thursday night small group. I have heard the song several times but this time, I thought about it in a new way. Here is how I usually think about it-

Yesterday is a wrinkle on your forehead

– Your past is part of who you are

Yesterday is a promise that you’ve broken

– in the past you’ve had some failures

Don’t close your eyes

– Don’t be discouraged

This is your life, and today is all you have now

-We are not promised tomorrow, get it done today

This is your life, are you who you want to be

– Are you reaching your fullest potential

Thursday night, I thought of it in the context of worship. I began to think about how I see people holding back in worship. I can almost see the inner struggle as I look around the room.  Why is it that we can be afraid to let out our deepest adoration?  I have been there myself at times. Standing in a sea of people wanting to raise my hands or jump up and down, or get down on my knees and then I feel all the eyes in the room starring at me so I hold it all in.

This is your life, are you who you want to be? – Worship is your life, are you worshiping with all of who you are? Are you pouring out all of who you are? If not, why not?  God certainly deserves it. Don’t look at the rest of the room.  Look to the cross, look to the King. Pour out all of who you are!

Leave a Reply

