Growth

So on Monday evenings, I have been attending a new small group. LeAnn is in class so I could have had an evening at home to chill or join a group. I obviously chose the latter. The name that the study was billed as is Open Eyes. It is about seeing what types of things Christians are doing around the world to make an impact . We are reading a book called Mountains beyond Mountains by Tracy Kidder. We have read part one so far and it has already been challenging my views on things. The book is about Paul Farmer who is a Doctor from Boston who help found a group called Partners in Health.

The first night of the group we all were asked to share why we came to the study. I said that I was looking to be more a part of the hands and feet of Christ. For some time now, I have been thinking about how blessed that I am and how I can use my gifts to serve others. I still don’t know what all of my gifts are, I just trust that God will reveal them to me as they are needed. I am going to explore what God has in store for me through this study group. He obviously has a plan for it or He would not have put the desire to attend it in my heart.

If you have made it this far, I want to leave you with a question, How can you make a difference in someone’s life? Give hope to the hopeless, food to the hungry, love to the unloved, dignity to the marginalized? Don’t feel you have to answer this question right now. It is just something to think about. I am working on it myself.

Leave a Reply

