Number 2

Number 2 means different things to different people. For some, it means they didn’t win. For others, it means well…number TWO. At this moment for me, it means I am in my second college class, Intro to operating systems. I was very bored Tuesday night. We did the first two chapters in the text book and they were about drumroll please……DOS! Does anyone use this? The instructor said that it is still in use. I use it occasionally myself as it is easier to change file attributes through dos, but for general purpose it doesn’t get used much. I think that we will be touching on NT, 2000, XP, Vista, OSX, and Linux. The instructor doesn’t know much about Linux so there is a good chance that I will be helping teach that section. I already had one of the other students ask for my email address so he can ask me questions that he has in his Unix/Linux course he is taking.

The first day of class didn’t do much for my opinion of Vista. The computers that they have are Dell Optiplex’s of some sort and have 1024MB of RAM. Nice computers but Vista crushes them. At least 40% of the computers crashed more than 3 times each. The instructors also kept crashing and so he had a hard time running his slides. The other problem they were having was that most of the students couldn’t log in with their network account. I had no issues with that but I did manage to crash mine. I plugged in my thumb drive and it started to install but then the mouse and keyboard hung. Since I couldn’t use the keyboard the 3-finger salute was out and I had to do a hard reboot via the power button. The system came back up and I logged in. As my profile was loading, I got the BSOD (Blue Screen of Death).

Is it any wonder that SP1 is coming out? I believe I will stick with XP SP3.

Leave a Reply

